top of page



  • 13 Class40 officially registered

  • Last generation Class40 to start

  • Skippers and crews with many titles

  • Who will succeed Aymeric Chappellier (Aïna enfance et avenir), winner in 2019?

13 Class40 officially registered Magnificent race of Class40 with this second edition of the Atlantic Challenge Guadeloupe/ Horta/ La Rochelle! A wonderful plateau for a great battle on the water since many new units are already registered. This should be hard on the water, since besides the hull drawings and the levels of preparation of the boats, beautiful crews are now engaged with many titles and beautiful awards! Winners of the Transat Jacques Vabre, winners of the CIC Normandy Channel, winner of the Mini Transat, winners of the Rorc Carribean 600, winners of the Sables – Horta, professional of the Figaro circuit, participant in the Vendée Globe… they are magnificent skippers and crews at the start of this 2nd edition of the Defi Atlantique! No doubt everyone should fight a fierce battle on this Atlantic return!

Note the attendance of:

  • Franz Bouvet (Yoda - 65) with a number of participations in different meetings such as La Route du Rhum - Destination Guadeloupe, Transat Jacques Vabre, Drhream Cup, Armen Race, Les Sables – Horta without forgetting the 2019 Atlantic Challenge... Crew: Philippe Magliulo and Grégory Burte.

  • Mathieu Claveau (Prendre la mer, Agir pour la forêt - 89) A Akilaria designed by Marc Lombard, 2nd in Corsica Med 2022, 3rd Off St Tropez and 28th in the last Route du Rhum - Destination Guadeloupe… Crew: Christophe Fialon, Lionel Carels, Agnés Menut.

  • Florian Gueguen (Dopamine Sailing Team - 104) A Mach40 designed by Sam Manuard in 2011. 33rd in the last Route du Rhum - Destination Guadeloupe, Class40 World Championship (11th), CIC Normandy Channel Race… Crew: Raphaël Auffret (skipper leg 1), Thomas Racoupeau, Vianney Guilbaud.

  • Jean-Baptiste Daramy (Chocolat Pariès – Screb - 123) A Prototype 40 designed by Botin Partners : Rorc Carribean 600 2023 (8th), the last Route du Rhum - Destination Guadeloupe (22nd), the 2022 World Championship (12th)… Crew: Ludovic Machin, Florence Prades.

  • Olivier Delrieu (Vicitan - 134). A Mach 40 by Sam Manuard. 3rd of the 2022 Rorc Caribbean 600. It should be noted that Didier le Vourch on board finished 23rd in the last Route du Rhum - Destination Guadeloupe aboard this boat. Crew: Didier Le Vourch and François Guiffant.

  • Jules Bonnier (Nestenn – Entrepreneurs pour la Planète -153). A Mach 40.3 designed by Sam Manuard, 3e de la Rolex Fastnet Race 2021, 7e du Championnat du Monde de Class40 2022… Equipement : Robin Follin, Thibault Lecarpentier, Pierrick Letouze.

  • Ian Lipinski (Crédit Mutuel - 158) double winner of the Mini Transat, winner of the CIC Normandy Channel Race 2022, of the Transat Jacques Vabre in 2019 and recordman of the distance covered in 24h in Class40 with 428.53 miles at an average speed of 17.86 knots. To be noted on board, the presence of Antoine Carpentier, 2nd of the Atlantic Challenge 2019 and recent 5th of the last Route du Rhum - Destination Guadeloupe. Antoine is also a three-time winner of the Transat Jacques Vabre. Crew: Antoine Carpentier and Rémi Fermin.

  • Brian Thompson (Tquila - 159) A Mach 40.4 designed by Sam Manuard. Brian has an incredible track record with a number of round-the-world races to his credit, with a victory in the Volvo Ocean Race in 2006, the world record on Banque Populaire V in 2012, a fifth place in the 2008-2009 Vendée Globe…

  • Axel Tréhin (Project Rescue Ocean), winner of the Normandy Chanel Race 2021 on this Class40 no. 162. A Max 40 by architect David Raison. Axel finished 10th of the last Route du Rhum - Destination Guadeloupe and 3rd of the Rorc Carribean 600 2023… Crew: Arno Biston, Laurent Pruvost.

  • Erwan Le Draoulec (Everial - 177) A Pogo S4 signed Guillaume Verdier. Erwan comes from the Figaro circuit where he was skipper Macif in 2020. Participated in many races of the Figaro circuit. Crew: Stan Thuret, Marie-Kell de Cannart, Pep Costa.

  • Ambriogio Beccaria (Alla Grande Pirelli), 2nd of the last Route du Rhum – Destination Guadeloupe aboard the recent no. 181 on plans Gianluca Guelfi, launched in 2022. Ambrogio’s strong record in other Class40 cars including a victory in the 2022 CIC Normandy Channel Race alongside Ian Lipinski and 2nd in the 2019 Defi Atlantique on Earendil.

  • Alberto Bona (IBSA Group) 8th of the last Route du Rhum – Destination Guadeloupe on the very recent number 186, Mach 5 of the latest generation of the architect Sam Manuard. He just won a few days ago the Rorc Carribean 600 2023… Pablo Santurde Del Arco, winner of the Transat Jacques Vabre, des Sables – Horta and multiple winner of the Rorc Carribean 600, will be on board. Pietro Luciani, with his strong Class40 record, will also be on board. Crew: Pablo Santurde, Pietro Luciani.

  • Marc Lepesqueux (Curium Life Forward) on the totally new n°187. A Lift V2 plan by Marc Lombard launched in 2022. Marc finished 20th of the last Route du Rhum – Destination Guadeloupe with his new Class40…

The record to beat? A look back at the 2019 event. Atlantic return race every 4 years, the 2019 Défi Atlantique Guadeloupe / Horta / La Rochelle was won, with a combined time over the two legs, by Aymeric Chappellier (Aïna Enfance et Avenir) in 15 days, 3 hours, 42 minutes and 48 seconds, at an average speed of 9.67 knots This will be the reference time to beat for the 2022 edition! It was Aymeric Chappellier who won the first leg in 2019 between Pointe-à-Pitre and Horta in 9 days, 15 hours, 46 minutes and 19 seconds at an average speed of 9.60 knots. The blue monohull was followed by Earendil skippered by Catherine Pourre, and then Kito de Pavant on Made in Midi. Note that on this first stage, Loïck Fequet suffered damage on Tibco and rerouted to Bermuda to repair a rudder blade before setting off again, and Luke Berry aboard Lamotte – Module Création demasted the day after setting sail, 180 miles off the coast of Guadeloupe. The departure of the second stage between Horta (Azores) and La Rochelle was on Monday 8 April for the 1,300 remaining miles. Although Earendil crossed the finish line for this second stage in the lead, Catherine Pourre's Class 40 was unable to make up for her 10 hour delay on arrival in the Azores behind Aymeric Chappellier's Aïna Enfance et Avenir, who was crowned champion of this first edition of the Défi Atlantique. Kito de Pavant on Made in Midi finished 3rd for the stage and 3rd overall.

Défi Atlantique 2019 Guadeloupe / Horta / La Rochelle :

1st – Aïna Enfance et avenir – Aymeric Chappellier : 15 days, 03 hours, 42 minutes et 48 seconds, average speed of 9,67 knots.

2d – Earendil Catherine Pourre / Pietro Luciani : 15 d, 12 h, 24 m et 15 s, average speed of 9,44 knots.

3d - Made in Midi – Kito de Pavant : 16 d, 13 h, 22 m et 05 m, average speed of 8,85 knots


  • Instagram - Black Circle
  • Facebook - Black Circle
  • Twitter - Black Circle
bottom of page